Follow Us on Social Media:
Follow Us on Social Media:

Candidates Announced for 2022 Florida HBPA Election

A total of seven candidates will run in the upcoming 2022 FHBPA Election, to be held March 15, 2022. Nominations were submitted during the FHBPA’s annual General Nominating Meeting and Awards Dinner at Gulfstream Park Dec. 11.
The seven candidates are:
Adam Lazarus
Troy Levy
David Rousso
Kathy Davey
Michael Lerman
Joe Orseno
Terri Pompay
The Florida HBPA is supervised and managed by a Board of 15 Directors. Six seats are reserved for Owner/Directors, and six seats are reserved for Trainer/Directors. Three Directors may be either an owner or a trainer.
The Board of Directors is divided into three groups of five Directors, known as Groups 1, 2, and 3. Elections are held annually, and the terms of all Directors shall be three years.
In order to be a candidate for the FHBPA Board of Directors, owners and trainers must be licensed as an owner and/or trainer, and be in good standing, and must have started a horse five or more times during the 12 months immediately preceding the date of the election in which they are running for a seat on the Board. An individual licensed as an owner may only run for a seat on the Board as an owner; an individual licensed as a trainer or as an owner and trainer may only run for a seat on the Board as a trainer.
Voting for the 2022 FHBPA Election will begin in February. Each member of the FHBPA who is currently licensed as an owner and/or trainer and is in good standing is entitled to cast one vote in the general election.